
8th graders: please use this link, read the article, and then comment:
http://www.omaha.com/index.php?u_page=2798&u_sid=10424201
I read the article and, to me, it looks like a clear case of racism. Does something like hanging an African American doll to a cross and then saying that "It's not racist, because it was not hanging by the neck" even make sense?? Absolutely not!! Furthermore, as the gentleman stated in the article, it is absolute stupidity. What really upsets me is about this article, was that after the offensive display was taken down because the police told them to do so, it was put back up later. Even though I feel this could be a hate crime, I'm not sure the law sees it this way. It's too bad that people can't be ticketed for stupidity, otherwise the people who put up this demeaning display would be paying money out of their ears. Your thoughts???

18 comments:
yea i think thats true thats messed up
I think that those people should go to jail because that is some really racist things.
wow this family is really racist. even though they say they aren't you can so tell they are. who would even name their dog Hitler, the person who did so much to poor Jews. I would be very mad at him too.
I think that that's not appropriate to have outside your house but I don't think that they should have to go to jail. It's freedom of speech and as long as they keep it in their house then its fine but, if it's outside then they need to take it down.
or they gowing 2 jail!!
I think ignorance is no excuse for stupidity. I don't care if her late grandma gave it to her. she should hang it up privately, by putting such revolting displays in plain sight infringes on the rights of others and should be put in JAIL
yea it is racist...too racist!
I think these people should go to jail because they are racist they even used their dog to be racist but still their dog didn't have much of a fault in it.
I think those people should go to jail cuz thats racist.
no because he has done nothing wrong.
i think that its really bad and a bad example if they have kids.
i think they should stay in jail awhile because what they did was racist!!
Angel, I agree with you in as far as they probably didn't do anything that was "legally" wrong. However, this action, seems morally wrong in my opinion.
i think they should change the dog name....
poltics belong to others not a child and those word dont sound like a childs it sounds like a adults
this is the reson poltics get in volved in stupid situatons
Post a Comment